The Cradle to Cradle approach defines and promotes the development of upcyclable products, which means that, unlike conventional recycling, it maintains the quality of raw materials throughout the multiple life cycles of the product and its components.

It is a philosophy of eco-design and circular economy that suggests that the human species and its activities are not a problem for nature or health, and that it is possible to “do good” by aiming for a positive impact rather than just “doing less damage” by reducing its impacts.

It therefore consists in having a positive impact on health and environment by drawing inspiration from the natural model according to four main principles:

  • Everything is resource,
  • Renewable energies must be favoured,
  • Diversity and cooperation must be celebrated,
  • A systemic and holistic vision is necessary.

Finally, this means that everything can be considered as a resource and the notion of waste disappears: the right materials enter infinite cycles/metabolisms, used in the right place at the right time. That was the reason why its founders gave it this name.

Cradle to Cradle : ” Less Bad is not Good ”

c2c-book

Unlike the sustainable development approach, which aims to reduce man’s negative impact on the environment, the “Cradle to Cradle” approach aims to increase its positive impact.

It is therefore a positive approach that gives context and perspective to life cycle analysis. It is not about reducing or minimizing its footprint and consumption, but about changing direction, gradually transforming our system from the inside. Nor is it a question of managing decline, but of managing a new form of growth that integrates, from the outset, the interests of future generations.

Cradle to Cradle is thus the driving force behind the circular economy and makes it possible to set up continuous flows in both opened and closed loops, while creating value at each step of the process. To successfully carry out this eco-design, it is essential to think upstream of the product so that its design ultimately brings benefits both on the economy, social and health/wellness, but also on the environment.

Initially, the C2C approach applies to products. It thinks differently about their durability and thus foresees differently their design, materials used and flows. Knowing that all these materials and energy to which we have access are not renewable, Cradle to Cradle seeks to use them, but this time in a beneficial circular approach and no longer in a damaging linear approach. Their use can therefore continue indefinitely via 2 cycles:

The biological cycle

In a biological cycle, materials are decomposed by micro-organisms to form new nutrients. Biodegradable products are transformed into compost, thus forming a base of nutrients that can be used by new natural resources.

All products that belong to this cycle are called “consumption products”. In the C2C vision, clothing, footwear or any other products that wear out in use – such as tires – must be designed with a view to returning to the soil, with only substances that are compatible with the biological cycle. The diagram below, which shows an example of the manufacture of a biodegradable bioplastic bottle, illustrates this.

Usually, what we call “recycling” is more like “subcycling” because it is often a source of value destruction (e.g. simple energy recovery is a source of loss of precious nutrients).
Here, the cycle is closed and has a positive impact since the bottle has been eco-designed from 100% biodegradable components and can therefore return to the soil from which it is made (e. g. corn starch) to be used as compost.

The technical cycle

A technical cycle consists of flows of industrial materials, intentionally managed. The idea is to allow mass industrial products to circulate in a closed circuit, while maintaining a constant level of quality. Having a closed system is a prerequisite for creating optimal value, but also for leaving the possibility of using toxic substances when unavoidable (before finding substitutes).
The ease of disassembly and the care taken in choosing the materials for a product are fundamental aspects of the design. The products and materials in this cycle are called “use products”.
The diagram below shows the example of a television set, produced by assembling elements of defined quality and which can be reused to re-create the same material (closed loop) or participate in the manufacture of other products (open loop).
The technical loop also makes possible the principle of “functional economy”. This is the case, for example, in laundries where consumers prefer not to buy washing machines and to use them for a fee. In this approach, the equipment remains the property of the manufacturer, and is returned to him after a defined period of use. One of the advantages of this system is that the manufacturer has an interest in using materials of a higher level and quality, as well as a take-back system, to easily recover components for which he has considered, during eco-design, the next uses within economically resilient ecosystems.

Cradle to Cradle certification of products

Today, more than 10,000 products are C2C certified and nearly 500 companies are involved.

This means that they meet five conditions: non-toxicity, circularity, renewable energy, preservation of water and respect for social rules. The list of C2C products is available at www.c2ccertified.org.

Different levels of certificates (Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum) make possible to gradually move towards an optimal version of the product.

 

Certifications are now issued by the C2CPII public body (C2C Product Innovation Institute) on the basis of evaluation reports produced by accredited bodies. Upcyclea is the only French accredited company.

The “C2C-Inspired Building” Registry

On the basis of certified products, it is entirely possible to adapt the approach to the scale of a building. The philosophy is identical with the desire to build buildings that can be dismantled and upcycled, and be sources of value creation. The principles are specified below:

A C2C building must have a positive footprint in one or more of the following areas:

  • ① Healthy air
  • ② Healthy water
  • ③ Healthy materials & Upcycling of technical materials
  • ④ Biodiversity & Upcycling of organic materials
  • ⑤ Improved mobility and flexibility
  • ⑥ Renewable Energy & Carbon Management
  • ⑦ Quality of life & Performance
  • ⑧ Economic activity, Social innovations & Regional dynamism

Buildings inspired by Cradle to Cradle are registered by the Hamburg Environmental Institute (HUI), on the proposal of Upcyclea. The list is available on: www.C2C-buildings.net

Are you also interested in creating a better world?

So contact us.

EnglishFrench

La démarche Cradle to Cradle définit et favorise le développement de produits upcyclables, ce qui signifie que, contrairement au recyclage conventionnel, elle maintient la qualité des matières premières tout au long des multiples cycles de vie du produit et de ses composants.

C’est une philosophie d’éco-conception et d’économie circulaire qui suggère que l’espèce humaine et ses activités ne sont pas un problème pour la nature ou la santé, et qu’il est possible de « faire du bien » en visant un impact positif plutôt que de seulement « faire moins mal » en réduisant ses impacts.

Elle consiste donc à avoir une empreinte positive sur la santé et l’environnement en s’inspirant du modèle naturel selon quatre grands principes :

  • Tout est ressource,
  • Il faut privilégier les énergies renouvelables,
  • Il faut célébrer la diversité et la coopération,
  • Il est nécessaire d’avoir une vision systémique et holistique.

Au final, cela signifie que tout peut être considéré comme une ressource et que la notion de déchet disparaît : les bons matériaux rentrent dans des cycles/métabolismes à l’infini, utilisés au bon endroit au bon moment. C’est ainsi que ses fondateurs lui ont attribué ce nom, traduisant en français l’expression « du berceau au berceau ».

Cradle to Cradle : ” Faites du bien plutôt que moins mal ”

économie circulaire, cradle to cradle, ressource management, éco-conception

A l’inverse de la démarche de développement durable qui a pour objectif de réduire l’empreinte négative de l’Homme sur l’environnement, la démarche « Cradle to Cradle » vise à augmenter son impact positif.

C’est donc une approche positive qui donne un contexte et une perspective à l’analyse de cycle de vie. Il ne s’agit plus de réduire ou minimiser son empreinte et sa consommation mais de changer de direction, en transformant notre système progressivement depuis l’intérieur. Il ne s’agit pas non plus de gérer la décroissance mais de gérer une nouvelle forme de croissance qui intègre, dès l’amont, l’intérêt des générations futures.

Le Cradle to Cradle est donc le moteur de la nouvelle économie circulaire à impact positif et permet de mettre en place des flux continus en boucles ouvertes et fermées, tout en créant de la valeur à chaque étape du processus. Pour mener à bien cette éco-conception, il est essentiel de réfléchir en amont du produit afin que sa conception apporte, à terme, des bénéfices tant sur l’économie, le social et la santé/bien-être, mais également sur l’environnement.

économie circulaire, cradle to cradle, ressource management, éco-conception

A l’origine, la démarche C2C s’applique aux produits. Elle pense différemment leur durabilité et prévoit donc différemment leur conception, les matériaux utilisés et leurs flux. Sachant que tous ces matériaux et toute cette énergie auxquels nous avons accès ne sont pas renouvelables, le Cradle to Cradle cherche à les utiliser, mais cette fois-ci dans une approche circulaire bénéfique et non plus linéaire dommageable. Leur utilisation peut donc continuer indéfiniment via 2 cycles :

Le cycle biologique

Dans un cycle biologique, les matières sont décomposées par des micro-organismes pour former de nouveaux nutriments. Les produits biodégradables sont transformés en compost, constituant ainsi une base de nutriments utilisables par de nouvelles ressources naturelles.

Tous les produits qui appartiennent à ce cycle sont appelés « produits de consommation ». Dans la vision C2C, les vêtements, les chaussures ou tout autre produits s’usant à l’utilisation – comme les pneus – doivent être conçus dans l’optique d’un retour à la terre, avec uniquement des substances compatibles avec le cycle biologique. Le schéma ci-dessous, qui présente l’exemple de la fabrication d’un flacon en bioplastique biodégradable, en donne une illustration.

Habituellement, ce que nous appelons le « recyclage » tient davantage du « sous-cyclage » car il est souvent source de destruction de valeur (ex : simple valorisation énergétique source de perte de nutriments précieux).
Ici, le cycle est fermé et à impact positif puisque le flacon a été éco-conçu à partir de composants 100% biodégradable et peut donc retourner au sol dont il est issu (ex : amidon de tiges de maïs) pour servir de compost.

économie circulaire, cradle to cradle, ressource management, éco-conception

Le cycle technique

Un cycle technique se compose de flux de matériaux industriels, intentionnellement maîtrisés. L’idée est de permettre aux produits industriels de masse de circuler en circuit fermé, tout en maintenant un niveau de qualité constant. Le fait que le système soit fermé est un pré-requis pour créer une valeur optimale, mais aussi laisser la possibilité d’utiliser, quand c’est inévitable, des substances toxiques (avant de leur trouver des substituts).
La facilité du désassemblage et le soin apporté au choix des matériaux pour un produit sont des aspects fondamentaux dans la conception. Les produits et les matériaux dans ce cycle sont appelés « produits d’usage ».
Le schéma ci-dessous présente l’exemple d’un téléviseur, produit par l’assemblage d’éléments de qualité définie et pouvant être réutilisés pour recréer le même matériel (boucle fermée) ou participer à la fabrication d’autres produits (boucle ouverte).
La boucle technique rend également possible le principe d’économie de fonctionnalité. C’est, par exemple, le cas des laveries où les consommateurs préfèrent ne pas acheter les lave-linges et en avoir un usage payant. Dans cette approche le matériel reste la propriété du fabricant, et lui est retourné après une période d’usage définie. Un des avantages de ce système est que le fabricant à intérêt à utiliser des matériaux d’un niveau et d’une qualité supérieurs, ainsi qu’un système démontable, pour récupérer facilement des composants dont il aura pensé, lors de l’éco-conception, les usages suivants au sein d’écosystèmes économiquement résilients.

économie circulaire, cradle to cradle, ressource management, éco-conception

La certification Cradle to Cradle des produits

Aujourd’hui plus de 10 000 produits sont certifiés C2C et près de 500 entreprises sont concernées.

Cela signifie qu’ils respectent cinq critères : non toxicité, circularité, énergie renouvelable, respect de l’eau, respect des règles sociales. La liste des produits C2C est disponible sur www.c2ccertified.org.

Différents niveaux de certificats (Basique, Bronze, Argent, Or, Platine) permettent de tendre progressivement vers une version optimale du produit.

logo certified cradletocradle

 

Les certifications sont aujourd’hui prononcées par l’organisme public C2CPII (C2C Product Innovation Institute) sur la base de rapports d’évaluation produits par des organismes accrédités. Upcyclea est la seule entreprise française accréditée.

Le référencement « C2C-Inspired Building » des bâtiments

Sur la base des produits certifiés, il est tout à fait possible d’adapter la démarche à l’échelle d’un bâtiment. La philosophie est identique avec la volonté de construire des bâtiments démontables et recyclables sources de création de valeur. Les principes sont précisés ci-dessous :

Un bâtiment C2C doit avoir une empreinte positive dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants :

  • ① Air sain
  • ② Eau saine
  • ③ Matériaux sains & Upcyclage des matières techniques
  • ④ Biodiversité & Upcyclage des matières organiques
  • ⑤ Mobilité et Flexibilité améliorées
  • ⑥ Energie renouvelable & Gestion du carbone
  • ⑦ Qualité de vie & Performance
  • ⑧ Activité économique, Innovations sociales & Dynamisme régional

Les bâtiments inspirés du Cradle to Cradle sont référencés par l’institut environnemental de Hambourg (HUI), sur proposition d’Upcyclea. Leur liste est disponible sur : www.C2C-buildings.net

économie circulaire, cradle to cradle, ressource management, éco-conception

Vous aussi, vous souhaitez créer un monde meilleur ?

Alors contactez-nous.

EnglishFrench